The Fisherman and the Carp

Thrice the same magic carp has taken my bait.

Thrice it said, “Alas, sir, you have captured me. Please spare my life and in return I will grant you one wish.”

I gazed at the fish; although the hook was caught in its mouth, it wriggled unenthusiastically. I pondered why this creature would continue to bite my bait. It must not have such a great life as a magical, talking fish; it must be lonely.

I understand loneliness. The days are long while I am alone in my boat, hoping for a successful catch to please my bitter wife.

Each time the fish returned to my hook, I felt a sense of companionship.

“I love you, Magic Carp.” I said.

“I love you too, Fisherman.” It replied.

We sat in silence.

“But none of your stupid wishes came true.” I accused.

“I’m sorry, I was just saying that for attention.”

This entry was posted in 100 Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Fisherman and the Carp

  1. totally just made my day.. Lovely just like your blog!
    -Brooke’s Sister

  2. bdh63 says:

    This made me laugh and feel sad at the same time. Few words but deep thoughts. Nicely done.

Leave a Reply

