A Debt Repaid

Dad stayed with me when Mom left. I don’t know if he stayed because he wanted to or because he had to. Regardless, he made sure I had food, clothes, and a roof over my head. He even let me come home again after I graduated from college.

He was full of wisdom, and never hesitated to give me advice–whether I needed it or not:

“Don’t be an asshole.”

“What’d I say about being an asshole?”

I owed everything to him.

Now he’s gone, but I’ll always remember his last words: “Hey, what are you doing with that pillow?”

This entry was posted in 100 Word and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Debt Repaid

  1. noelashland says:

    That was quite an ending. I love irony. Thank you for sharing.

Leave a Reply

